How to Overcome Writer’s Block

It happens to every writer. It’s inevitable. Eventually, you come to the end of yourself when your prose has turned to mush and you feel like throwing in the towel.

Writer’s block. How do you overcome it?

It’s a tough question to answer, and I’m afraid that I don’t have a great solution.

I will tell you how you do not overcome writer’s block. You do not overcome writer’s block by refusing to write until you feel “inspired.” You do not overcome writer’s block by wallowing in self-pity. You do not overcome writer’s block by reading articles on how to overcome writer’s block.

You overcome writer’s block, I believe, by writing.

Start there. Write a few lines. Say anything. You’ll get past the hump.

6 Comments on “How to Overcome Writer’s Block”

  1. Ben Girdler says:

    this is what i needed. have have felt “blocked” for several months now. i need to just write, something, anything.

  2. Jeff Goins says:

    i agree, ben. just go for it. you’ll get re-inspired. why not start and see what comes out?

  3. Ram Raghavan says:

    interesting. i agree, but not completely :)

  4. I stumbled upon your blog and I believe I can help eliminate Writer’s Block!

    Writer’s block is when our conscious mind – that critical and analytical part of our brain – gets in the way of our subconscious mind – the creative and free-flowing part of our brain that speaks in images and symbols. After all, the subconscious is where our stories are birthed.

    I have step-by-step instruction on how to unlock the subconscious on my blog and eliminate writer’s block. I hope it helps for anyone who runs into writer’s block.

    Happy writing, everyone!!

    That’s my two pence…
    Arial ;)


Leave a Reply

