Writing Tip: Tell Me Something Different

Don’t tell me something that I could’ve read somewhere else. Don’t tell me something that I already know.

Tell me something different.

Tell me something unique, something that will cause me to read what you wrote not once, but twice or three times.

Tell me something that will cause me to go back and read it again to my wife. Tell me something that I’m going to highlight, post to Twitter, and repeat to myself for the rest of the day.

Tell me something I won’t easily forget. Again, I say: tell me something different.

4 Comments on “Writing Tip: Tell Me Something Different”

  1. Adam McLane says:

    This is so good and true. I read about 50-75 blog posts per day. Honestly, while I am seeing more unique stuff out there, there isn’t a lot that males me think. Even Seth Godin, who used to really make my head spin gas stopped stimulating thought for me. Love this challenge.

  2. and that different thing has got to show up or be hinted at in the first 2-3 lines of the article. Otherwise, people assume it is more of the same and click on to the next site

  3. Jesus was good at this – “You’ve heard it said…. but I say to you” gained a hearing

  4. Jeff Goins says:

    Thanks, guys. These posts are more fun for me to write than some of the longer reflection pieces I do.


Leave a Reply

