When Life Hands You Lemons… Learn Alchemy

All too often, our circumstances are defined by what other people tell us is realistic or feasible. The old saying, “When life hands you lemons, make lemonade,” is a perfect example of this paradigm.

What if I don’t like lemons? What if I’m not in the mood for lemonade?

Too bad, the logic goes, those were the cards you were dealt. You’ll just have to make do with what you have.

Nope. Nuh-uh. Not any more. Not for me. When life hands me lemons, I’m making orange juice.

In other words, I better learn alchemy, because I have some lemons that need to be turned in to oranges.

Isn’t it about time that we were a little more inventive and creative with our problem-solving? Let’s stop being reactive, and start being proactive.

Very rarely, in any given situation, is there only one way to work through a problem. As Seth Godin wrote in the book Linchpin, “There is no map.” Most successful people, when they’re honest, are “making it up” as they go along. So, why do you have to play by the rules? Why do you have to conform to someone else’s standards?

Why do you have to make lemonade?

You don’t. (Now, friends, I’m all for being realistic and persevering through difficult circumstances; all I’m asking you to do is not settle.)

Learn alchemy instead.

6 Comments on “When Life Hands You Lemons… Learn Alchemy”

  1. Creativity is key for the entrepreneur. It’s all about looking at things from a new perspective. Although if I ever do master alchemy there will probably be a career change somewhere in the horizon and I’ll be on an island somewhere surrounded by all my gold : )

  2. Exactly. Don’t let tradition or the world’s expectations confine you. I try not to think too much into things, and simply do what makes sense on a small scale.

  3. Tom Ward says:

    A true statement. Life has taught me that when you don`t like the cards your dealt ,build a house with them ,play a solitaire with them !The Main goal is you define what your life is, not the rest of the World….
    .

    • Nick says:

      Since there aren’t any rules, and no one else HAS to lose for me to win, I sometimes use markers and change the cards I’m dealt…magic is magic, any way you get there!

  4. So true! Thinking outside the box is key. However, perspective is also essential. Personally, I like lemons and there are about 1,000 different ways I would use them before I made lemonade.

  5. Hugmomma says:

    Once you get past the anxiety of going “off grid” with your ideas, every situation becomes, rather than a problem, an opportunity to be creative, shine, and indulge in your art.


Leave a Reply

